- Multi Day Tour
- Unesco World Heritage Site
From the classic ancient Olympic Stadium at Olympia to the famous rock-tower monasteries of Meteora and Nauplion, the first capital of modern Greece, and to the region of Macedonia “Country of Alexander the Great” – you’ll visit some of the most iconic sites in Greece on this seven-day tour from Athens.
|DEPARTURE DAYS||APR – SEP
THU > April 20, May 11 & 25, June 8 & 22, July 20, August 3, September 14 & 21 & 29
|RETURN TIME||7:00pm (7th Day)|
|WEAR||Casual dressing. To enter the monasteries, appropriate clothing is required. Ladies should not wear short skirts and must have long sleeves. Men are not allowed to wear shorts.
Most sites in Greece involve extended walking and/or slippery surfaces.
Therefore we strongly suggest wearing comfortable sturdy shoes.
Sunscreen, hat and water are also good “travel companions”.
|DIFFICULTY||Due to extend walking and slippery surfaces please inform us if you have walking disabilities or using a wheelchair before booking this tour.|
Thessaloniki also known as Salonica is a city of great historic importance and a crossroad of so many civilizations and cultures.
You will also have the opportunity to visit the Archaeological Museum which it holds and interprets artifacts from the Archaic, Classical, Hellenistic and Roman periods, mostly from the city of Thessaloniki but also from the region of Macedonia in general.
Temple of Apollo
Between the sixth and fourth centuries BC, the Delphic oracle, which was regarded as the most trustworthy, was at its peak. It was delivered by the Pythia, the priestess, and interpreted by the priests of Apollo. Cities, rulers and ordinary individuals alike consulted the oracle, expressing their gratitude with great gifts and spreading its fame around the world. The oracle was thought to have existed since the dawn of time. Indeed, it was believed to have successfully predicted events related to the cataclysm of Deukalion, the Argonaut’s expedition and the Trojan War; more certain are the consultations over the founding of the Greek colonies. It was the oracle’s fame and prestige that caused two Sacred Wars in the middle of the fifth and fourth centuries BC. In the third century BC, the sanctuary was conquered by the Aetolians, who were driven out by the Romans in 191 BC. In Roman times, the sanctuary was favored by some emperors and plundered by others, including Sulla in 86 BC.
Theatre of Epidaurus
Apart from a few rows of seats, the cavea is made of limestone with poros staircases. Until now, nine cunei with eighteen rows of seats have been excavated, which originally could accommodate about 2000 spectators. All the benches and thrones of the theatre carry inscriptions with the names of the donors while implying a direct relationship of the monument with the cult of Dionysos. From the inscriptions on the monument it is deduced that it was constructed in sections, starting at the middle of the 4th century B.C. and continuing into the Hellenistic period. There may have been an earlier, simpler form of the theatre. During the Roman period, the orchestra became semi-circular with the erection of a stage nearer to the cavea, of which the lower part has survived until now. Benches from the cavea have been used for the construction of the city-wall, situated on the top of the second hill of the headland.
Delphi Archeological Museum
The permanent exhibition of the Archaeological Museum of Delphi focuses on the history of the Delphic sanctuary and oracle, covering the long time span from prehistory to Late Antiquity. Most of the exhibits were donated to the sanctuary during its period of great prosperity, from Archaic Greek to Roman times. The exhibits are presented in chronological order and by context (Sanctuary of Pronaia, votive pit of the Sacred Way, Temple of Apollo, Siphnian Treasury). These groups are part of larger exhibition units, which allow the visitor to understand the periods of floruit and decline of the sanctuary, the wealth of the different donators, the identity of the various artistic workshops and the urban and demographic development around the sanctuary. The exhibition is set out according to the specific needs of each medium: large-scale statues and architectural sculpture need more ‘room to breath’ than the so-called minor objects. The exhibition focuses mainly on the art of the Archaic period, on metal and marble offerings rather than on pottery, and on monumental architectural and sculptural groups rather than on domestic or funerary assemblages. Some particularly impressive exhibits, such as the famous bronze Charioteer, are displayed separately. Texts, models, maps, sketches and digital reconstructions, illustrating the physical setting of the objects, complete the exhibition. Tomb of the King PHILIP, Vergina Vergina.
Mycenae was founded between two tall conical hills, Profitis Ilias (805 m.) and Sara (660 m.), on a low plateau dominating the Argive plain and controlling both the land and sea routes. The site was first occupied in the seventh millennium BC (Neolithic period). The construction of the palace and fortification wall currently visible began c. 1350 BC (Late Helladic IIIA2). The latter saw three construction phases, the first wall being built of Cyclopean masonry. A new wall was erected to the west and south of the early one approximately one hundred years later (Late Helladic IIIB1), together with the Lion Gate, the citadel’s monumental entrance, and its bastion. Included in the newly fortified area were the city’s religious centre and Grave Circle A, which was refurbished and used for ancestral cults. The famous tholos tomb known as the ‘Treasure of Atreus’, with its gigantic lintels and tall beehive vault, was probably built during the same period.
Spectacularly perched atop rocky pinnacles in Thessaly, the Meteora monasteries are among the most striking sights in Greece. The name Meteora (Μετέωρα) is Greek for “suspended in the air,” which perfectly describes these six remarkable Greek Orthodox monasteries. The sandstone peaks were first inhabited by Byzantine hermits in the 11th century, who clambered up the rocks to be alone with God. The present monasteries were built in the 14th and 15th centuries during a time of instability and revival of the hermit ideal; the first was Great Meteoron (c.1340) and there were 24 monasteries by 1500. They flourished until the 17th century but only six survive today; four of these still host monastic communities.
Ruins of ancient Pella
Only a small part of the site of Pella, which covers an area of approximately four square kilometres, is open to the public. Located north of the Thessaloniki-Giannitsa road, this includes several houses (House of Dionysus, House of Helen’s Rapture, House of Poseidon, House of the Wall plaster) and part of the agora. Other excavated sectors, such as the palace, the sanctuary of the Mother of the Gods and Aphrodite, and the sanctuary of Darron, are not accessible. The monuments visible today belong mostly to the Hellenistic period. Sparse remains of the Classical period near the modern irrigation channel indicate that the core of the city was located south of the Thessaloniki-Giannitsa road during this period.
A sense of awe in the face of death, the splendours of regal glory, the emotions stirred by the tragic finale of the royal house of the Temenides, are all associated with the site of the royal tombs at Aigai. This conception dictated the scenario; the basic settings were guided by the principle that only the ancient artifacts should be lit up and warm in a dark neutral setting. The visitor descending into the underground area of the tombs begins his tour with a reconstruction of the Great Mound, the monument that originally marked the site of the Royal Tombs and which no longer exists.
The White Tower, the landmark of Thessaloniki standing on the city’s waterfront, was once the south-east tower of a large fortification. The six-storeyed cylindrical tower is 33.90 metres high and 22.70 metres in diameter. The spiraling staircase, a hundred and twenty metres long, is tangent to the exterior wall, leaving a central core of 8.50 metres in diameter. Each floor comprises a central circular room surrounded by smaller rectangular rooms built in the girth of the exterior wall. Only the top floor has a single circular room and an observation room which affords spectacular views of the city and the sea.
Pricing Details (Per person rates)
|Category||In sharing twin/ triple||In single|
|First class||1023,00 €||1233,00 €|